The Hunger Games. We’ve all heard about it. Whether we’ve seen it or read it is a different matter. I watched the film way before I read the book, I thought that by seeing the film before I would imagine Jennifer Lawrence as the protagonist, Katniss Everdeen. But that wasn’t the case at all. I made my own picture of all the characters, apart from Effie Trinket, I found it hard to see my own version of her because the movie built her up as someone that you won’t be able to forget (I think that was the point).

After I read the book I realised that Lionsgate got Katniss’ character completely wrong. She is portrait as someone very arrogant in the movies but in the book she’s not like that, maybe a little bit. I think the movie makers chose the wrong characteristic to focus on when it came to Katniss. But anyway, I’m not here to tell you the differences between the book and the movie, I’m here to tell you what I did and didn’t like about the book.

The version of the book I read was a paperback by Scholastic, it was split up into 3 parts; The Tributes, The Games, The Victor. I don’t know if it’s the same in every copy but that’s how it is in mine. I quite liked the fact that it was split up into parts, I thought it was really good for goal keeping, like to read each part before a deadline.

I loved the way Suzanne shows the relationship between Katniss and the people at the Hob, like Greasy Sae. It makes me, as a reader, feel like Katniss belongs there, that it is part of her life. Having a massive difference between places like the Hob and the Capital shows us that in that period of time there was a social ladder, there are the poor and the rich and the difference between them is very noticeable. Also, giving her someone she can trust completely was very powerful because it shows us that even though she lives in the Seam, a horrible dirty place, there is still something good to be found there.

What I particularly liked about this book is that it sort of divides the fans, there’s Team Gale and Team Peeta. I love that although Katniss and Gale are clearly best friends people still ship them, personally I think that if they were best friends they should stay that way. I’m saying that simply because I fell in love with Peeta as a character. He’s just so lovable and delicate (plus Josh Hutcherson is a babe).

I feel like in this review I have talked a fair bit about the main characters so I am going to change topic and give my opinion on some of the minor/irrelevant characters.

Prim is the reason why Katniss ended up in the Games, of course it wasn’t Prim’s fault but her name was picked at the reaping. I think Prim is meant to be a very delicate and innocent character and it really shows. You can tell that she cares a lot for her older sister and relies a lot on her as her mother isn’t very capable of looking after her anymore after her husband died. For Katniss Prim is a special gem that she has to protect no matter what, Prim is her weakness. ‘It’s the things we love the most that destroy us’ (I know the quote isn’t from this book it’s from the Mockingjay movie but it doesn’t matter!

Cinna is one of the few people who truly believes in Katniss. His character is so important as he brings out a side of Katniss that can only be brought out by someone who really knows her. He understands Katniss and I think that’s why she confides in him a lot.

Anyway, I think I’ve babbled on for ages now!

Happy Hunger Games, and may the odds be ever in your favour!

Thanks for reading 🙂 ❤

 

 

 

